Updates: Coming Home and Coming Out

So I made it home from Florida. Lame. Well, lame that I’m home, not lame that I made it. My nephew is officially adorable. He’s two now, walking and talking and potty training and catching balls like a rockstar. And he thinks I’m awesome. But I digress.

I didn’t really talk to my younger brother explicitly about everything, but like I said before, my fiancee talked to my sister-in-law. I didn’t really feel like I needed to talk to him about it specifically. Fiancee also talked to her family – we decided it was more her place than mine to talk to them. She told her mom that she wanted to talk to her about something serious. Her mom’s first reaction? “Are you pregnant!?” But apparently, after the initial pregnancy excitement, she was quite accepting, as were the fiancee’s sisters. That’s exciting. They offered to buy me a binder for Christmas, which I politely declined as it felt a little too like receiving underwear from your in-laws. But I did appreciate the gesture. They said they were trying to be “supportive” – bad pun intended. Oof.

In other news, I have a doctor’s appointment next week. It was a pre-existing check up, but I’ve now decided I’m going to use the opportunity to talk to my doctor about testosterone. Still looking for a therapist. It’s a surprisingly annoying process to find a therapist that will work around my 9-5 job. I guess the implication is that if you can hold down a 9-5, you must be well adjusted and able to handle yourself?

Also, our Save the Dates for the wedding arrived. The only thing I don’t like about them is that the picture was taken back before I cut my hair. We’ve started to address them and they’ll go out this weekend. The wedding is suddenly becoming real.

Savethedate

I’m still working on exactly how to talk to others, especially at work. Melissa is calling me Tyler almost all the time now. Not in front of my family yet, but that’s at my request until I can talk to them more openly. More on those developments later.

Weird question time: I’ve done a lot of research about T and the side effects and changes. I know about the acne and the appetite and the potential for elevated lipid levels. What are some side effects or changes that some of you had when starting that you didn’t expect or hear about ahead of time?

Until next time,
Ty

Leave a Reply

