Progress Report

I haven’t really had much time to update since my doctor’s appointment – you know, trying to execute some last minute Christmas shopping.

So I met with my doctor on Friday. I am healthy! Yay! She referred me to an endocrinologist that she knows treats her other trans client. I refused to go to that one. I work for an insurance company that fields that office’s requests frequently and the particular doctor’s office in question sends in the most clinically-questionable treatment requests for their clients. I am not prepared to deal with that level of incompetence from my doctor’s office. They weren’t going to be able to get me in until March anyway. Melissa found me a different endocrinologist that has better hours and can get me in starting in February, so we scheduled the appointment for February 23rd. The therapist is proving a little more difficult. They don’t do intake appointments during “after hours” appointments, which means I have to get an intake appointment between 9am and 5pm.

I talked to my brother, for realsies this time, not by proxy through his wife. He confirmed my suspicions that he loves me and supports me, so that was nice.

We’re in the process of year-end reviews at work. I did swimmingly on mine, which is nice. I have a meeting with my boss Friday to wrap up that process officially. I don’t know how or if I should talk to her, or wait until I have more specifics on the timeline for starting testosterone. I’m no idiot, I know the endocrinologist is going to want pretreatment labs done. At last check, my cholesterol was slightly high, so I know that’s going to be a topic of conversation if it still is (I’ve lost 40lbs since that draw, so it could be good now). So I don’t know at this juncture exactly when I’ll be able to start testosterone and I don’t know at what point the conversation at work is going to be unavoidable. It’s a scary prospect, having to come out all over again. I never really came out as “gay” at this job: everyone has always known (or assumed) and no one has ever made a big thing about it. I’m worried about whether that will still be the case

2 thoughts on “Progress Report”

  1. If you’re open to meeting with a therapist online, give me a holler. I’ve spoken with a few now and they were all quite willing to work with my weird work schedule.

Leave a Reply

