Updates, Gym and Whatnot

Seriously, if I had a dime for every weird look I got in the locker room at the gym, I’d just quit my job and hang out there. At least no one’s been mean or awkward again recently, but it begs the question: when do I change locker rooms? I’ve got the manager’s business card with her email address on it. I keep telling myself I’ll email her and put an end to the wondering once and for all, but I don’t know what to say. And I really don’t expect much other than a super politically correct response… something like “member safety and comfort is our top priority” and “use whichever locker room you feel most safe in” and maybe even a “if anyone creates a hostile environment, alert gym staff”. And really what good is something like that going to do me? My issue is that I spend enough time in the women’s locker room to know that the women find me out of place there. But I don’t know if the men will find me equally out of place. After all, I still have boobs and wear a sports bra.

On better notes:

Melissa scored a sweet new job nannying for a family fairly close to home. She’s super stoked for the opportunity and I’m happy for her. From what I’ve heard, she and the family seem to be a great match.

Tomorrow is my birthday… I’ll be 28 and just recently got a Facebook invite for my 10-year high school reunion. I’m nervous about going back and facing the people that made my life miserable for a while. I know it’s not required to go, but there are a lot of people that I am legitimately excited to see, too.

Last weekend Melissa and I helped a friend pull up 3 layers of kitchen floor and lay down wood laminate. It was a lot of hard work, but we had a lot of fun, too. Lots of sore muscles after the fact, but it looks awesome, so it was worth it.

And finally, this weekend we roadtrip to Charlottesville, VA for our annual Friendsmas celebration. We’re all in long-term relationships and we all have a train wreck of a holiday schedule to juggle, so rather than stressing each other out trying to make Christmas time with each other in December, we put it off a few months to give us all time to survive the holidays. So hooray Friendsmas weekend.

Last but not least – 13 days til my endocrinology appointment! I still haven’t talked to management at work, but I’ve talked to a couple of coworkers and they were supportive and awesome and told me not to worry about it so much, that the boss really cares about us as people, so that’s encouraging. It also looks like my schedule change is going to be pretty permanent, so I guess I need to get used to the early morning gym crowd.

3 thoughts on “Updates, Gym and Whatnot”

  1. You might consider the “family” locker room. In my gym it is usually empty and in many gyms, it is one family at a time, so you would have it to your self. Worth checking into!

Leave a Reply

