“Congratulations, now you’re Tyler” – 4 Months and Some Other Big News

I’ll get the “easy” part out of the way first…it’s been 4 months since I started testosterone. The facial hair is still growing in and the voice is, somehow, still deepening. I haven’t noticed a lot of changes this month; I’m definitely into the slow and steady changes point of the process. I’m feeling frustration at not noticing the changes nearly as fast as I’d like, but every once in a while I feel like “whoa”. Like these two pictures, just a month apart.

wpid-20150628_215422.jpg
June 2015
wpid-20150519_234758.jpg
May 2015
February 2015 (Pre-T) in case you were wondering.
February 2015 (Pre-T) in case you were wondering.

I mean, seriously…holy shoulders. I’m down to about 15-16% body fat, but my weight’s holding mostly steady. The horrendous appetite that I’d experienced at first is mostly under control now. The hair on my tummy and upper legs are continuing to fill in.

The word “passing” feels more and more like a misnomer every day, but for lack of a better word, I’m passing all the time now. Apparently, I read at least slightly gay (which I’ve noticed that several of us transguys seem to feel this), because gay guys flirt with me all the time. It’s seriously one of the best feelings. I guess part of the reason I was such an unattractive girl is because I’m a much better looking guy? Haha.

2014-06-29 11.44.25
wpid-20150628_172920.jpg
June 29, 2014 and June 28, 2015
wpid-20150628_215339.jpg
wpid-20150628_215356.jpg wpid-20150628_215349.jpg wpid-20150628_215525.jpg4 Month Testosterone Pictures
wpid-20150225_215915.jpg

Pre-T Pics for Comparison

Finally got out and got a bunch of new pants, too. I’m down from a 38″ waist to a 34″ waist. If you need new clothes and have never been to a Plato’s Closet, I really recommend it. They’re a thrift store, but they carry a lot of the big-store names and they’re all in good shape, for cheap. I got 5 new (to me) pairs of jeans for $50. And also had a cute bear flirt with me.

But the real big news has nothing to do with testosterone. My name change hearing was today and now I’m officially Tyler James. DMV was a bit more of a hassle. I have to change my name with the social security office before I can change my name with the DMV…and naturally the social security office closed at 3pm. If you find you need to change your name with the social security office, they do require you to fill out this form. So I’ll be taking care of that a 9am tomorrow when they open. Then 48 hours later, I can go to the DMV and have the reasonable expectation to change my name and gender marker. After that begins the long, slow process of changing it with everyone else.

Also, am I the only one that thinks it’s completely unacceptable to not dress up for a court date?

Oh, and I’ve been officially approved for a move up into management at work. I began training for that officially on Friday and I’m currently scheduled to take that position at the end of September when I get back from my honeymoon. So all in all, it’s been a pretty busy month and I’m pretty please with where things are headed.

Until Next Time,

Tyler

One thought on ““Congratulations, now you’re Tyler” – 4 Months and Some Other Big News”

  1. Looking good!! And congrats on the name change. My papers from the court came in the mail tonight so I’ll be off to the SS Admin soon and then the DMV too.

Leave a Reply

