Top Surgery Consult 2

Yesterday I had a second top surgery consult with Dr. Sherman Leis. His office is in a nice area on the outskirts of Philadelphia. I’d already consulted with Dr. Rumer, also out of Philadelphia.

My first impression was that the office felt home-y. Dr. Rumer’s office felt like something out of an Asimov novel – very sleek and futuristic – ultimately I felt like I might be a bit of a science experiment.

The office staff was friendly and helpful enough, they didn’t go out of the way to make me feel “welcome”, but I wasn’t really there for a customer service effort.

Dr. Leis had separate rooms for the consultation and the exam – which is really helpful if being in doctor’s offices makes you clam up. It was really nice just to sit across the desk from him and talk about what I wanted.

He came off a little standoffish at first – just sort of started asking demographic pertinents.

Height

6’0″

Weight

195lb

Eh… you could stand to lose about 20lb.

Ok, so a lot standoffish – after looking at me closer in the examination portion of the morning, he admitted that he was mistaken and I didn’t need to lose weight.

He talked about the types of surgery available, the differences in scarring and recovery time in each and what, based on looking at me fully clothed, he was hoping to be able to do for me. Then came time for the exam.

We went into another room that actually resembled a doctor’s office rather than a smoking room. He looked at my chest and confirmed that he be able to to what he called a “lollipop” cut – basically similar to the peri-areolar, but with an extra cut to remove some extra tissue. He did touch – something Dr. Rumer didn’t do. I was glad he did. Dr. Rumer unceremoniously declared I’d need the double incision and instructed me to put my shirt back on . Dr. Leis, while more “invasive” physically, also accounted for the fact that I have pectoral muscles that make my cup size bigger, but obviously won’t need to come out during top surgery.

I got dressed again and we wen’t back to his consultation room to discuss my specifics now. How much time off T? He usually prefers that I’d be off for 1 week before and 1 week after, so depending on where it falls in my injection schedule, I’ll miss 1-2 shots. How long out of work? 7-10 days, since I have a desk job. How long out of the gym? 2-3 weeks, depending on pain, inflammation and my own tolerance. (Dr. Rumer told me 4-6 weeks minimum). It would be a 4-hour long out patient procedure and I could go home after, with follow up 1 week later to remove the drains and then after a few weeks, months and at 1 year – just to monitor it. Overall, fewer follow ups than Dr. Rumer as well.

His office will “negotiate” with my insurance, since it is a covered procedure. So…I set a date.

I have a pre-op check on 01/26/2016. I have to get my pre-op bloodwork done in late February. And I have surgery scheduled for 03/14/2016 or 03/15/2016 (there’s a question on a surgery he may already have scheduled, so they’re going to give me the earliest date they can).

I feel like at this point I’m just kind of counting down. My chest will be healed in time for summer, so I’ll be able to take my shirt off outside.

I don’t think any of it has really set in just yet – but it’s just under 3 months away now. Melissa keeps joking that I should burn my binder when I’m done, but I’ll probably donate it so some other guy can get some use out of it.

That’s all for now,
Tyler

4 thoughts on “Top Surgery Consult 2”

  1. Just keep in mind regarding being shirtless in the summer. Even tho u r healed sun on the scars will make them purple and stand out. I’m told this is permanent. I went topless on and off but not for long periods my first summer to avoid this. Congrats. On getting it scheduled. Very exciting.

  2. That’s awesome! Congrats! Sounds like a good choice. I had a 2nd meeting with Dr. Rumer over skype, with my partner, and I’m on the precipice of scheduling with her. I think I already feel comfortable with her, and that’s a huge factor for me, as opposed to the idea of meeting and talking with more surgeons… I think I’m going to go with a gut feeling…

Leave a Reply

