Fridays from the Men’s Room – 03/11/2016

Monday – Another late night session. We went from snow last week to 50 degree nights. It’s beautiful. outside, so there was basically no one in the gym, even at 9:30pm.

Tuesday – Back to the morning routine. A 9:30pm to 11:00pm session, immediately followed by a 8:30am to 10:30am session starts feeling like 2-a-days really fast. While getting ready I suddenly realized that this is my last week worrying about my bra falling out my my bag. My last week worrying about my binder and struggling with pulling it down after a particularly demanding tricep routine (like this morning). It’s a bizarre feeling. As far as locker room interactions: someone was whistling beautifully in the shower. Couldn’t identify the song, but it was amazing.

Thursday – Remember one time I complained about being noticed in the women’s room? Today as I was finishing up getting dressed, one of the regulars walks up to me and introduces himself. He asked me about one of the exercises I was doing.  It seems that remaining anonymous in the gym isn’t much of an option. Overall though, he was friendly. We joked about people doing weird exercises in the gym and went our separate ways.

Friday – Today was a bittersweet sort of work out. Kinda felt like a dead man walking. Today was my last real work out for at least a month because I have surgery Monday. It was kind of surreal as I finished up my shower it really set in that this was my last time worrying about certain things in the gym. On that note, I also have to put this series on hiatus for a bit, since I’ll be out of the gym for a bit. Wish me luck Monday.

4 thoughts on “Fridays from the Men’s Room – 03/11/2016”

  1. Good luck! Although it is counter-intuitive, you really don’t want to lift anything more than 5 pounds after surgery for quite a while (my surgeon told me 6 weeks until I could lift any weights over my head). You don’t want scar tissue to develop and you don’t want to pop your stitches. Think about doing cardio that isn’t too hard on your chest.
    You will bounce back quickly since you are in such good shape – I had some trouble finding my pecs after surgery – and had to stand in front of the mirror at home and flex until I could find them. It also took a couple of times on the bench to feel natural doing barbell chest presses – don’t panic if all the neurons don’t fire properly at first – you may have to retrain them – so when you go back go light.

  2. Good luck with your surgery! I’ll miss not having this post to look forward to for a bit but I am so happy for you!

Leave a Reply

