Three Weeks Since Top Surgery

Today marks just over 3 weeks since top surgery. I had the sutures and drains out after about a week. I was having some issues with fluid build up in the right side, which isn’t dangerous from a health stand point, but definitely detrimental from a results stand point. In total, Dr. Leis drained about 100mL of fluid from the right side over about a week. Eventually he injected the right side with a really potent steroid and swished it around and drained it to help discourage the swelling and that seems to have done the trick.

I’m not due for another follow up for another 2 months now and I’m cleared to start back to the gym next week. I’m pleased to say that it doesn’t seem like I’ve lost much muscle mass at all (thanks, Jamie for the reassurance here. You definitely made the process easier on my mental health).

I did, however, manage to break my toe (not at all related to top surgery, 100% related to my clumsiness). The irony is that I broke it by dropping a protein shake on it. So my first week back is going to involve a lot of stationary biking.

But pain wise, the recovery process has been easy and the scars are healing well. My doctor is pretty pleased with the results right now. There are some pictures below for those interested. The sensation is slowly returning and right now I have feeling everywhere but directly on the nipple/areola area and about a quarter inch around. This is about on par with how my knee surgeries progressed, too, and Dr. Leis says that I should regain close to 100% sensation.

imag0216.jpg
Just for funsies. And so the first pic to pop up isn’t of my chest, for the squeamish folk. This is Clementine and she takes her 7AM cuddles very seriously. 
imag0207.jpg
This was taken the day the drains were removed, so about a week after surgery. Obviously a lot of swelling and bruising still. Please ignore my cat. She thinks that if I’m in the bathroom, she needs to drink from the sink. 
imag0221.jpg
This was taken today. You can see the loose skin still on one (my right) side. This was due the the swelling and fluid build up. The doctor wants to look at it closer to the 6-8 month mark to evaluate whether it’ll need revision or if it’ll work itself out as the scar tissue softens and the muscle regrows.

Overall I’d say i’m happy with the results. Right now my biggest sticking point is actually the bit of residual fear. Since taking the medical binder off, I’ll be sitting at work and feel my shirt rub against the bare parts of my chest that have feeling and I will immediately have this middle-school like wave of panic. You know that feeling when you were in gym class and had to get changed but realized you forgot to put a bra on? Then there’s a feeling of relief, knowing I didn’t forget my bra…I don’t have one anymore and, more importantly, I don’t need it. People don’t see breasts anymore. I can walk around without a bra and without a binder and still feel like a guy and not wonder if people see breasts. So that’s awesome.

My next update might be a while. Melissa and I have bought a house. We close the 13th and move the 17th, so my life’s about to get hectic. And good news: the Fridays from the Men’s Room will be coming back!

imag0219.jpg
Bonus Material: Kiwi is a sassy cat.

Until next time,

Tyler

 

4 thoughts on “Three Weeks Since Top Surgery”

  1. I’m so happy for you. I know that soon enough my son will be wanting this surgery and honestly, I am terrified. I look forward to following your journey and possibly easing my fears. Thank you for sharing.

    1. I’ve said a few times: if there’s anything I can do to make this journey easier for someone like me, or their loved ones, a little easier, then I feel like I’ve done something worthwhile. If there’s ever a question you think I can answer, feel free to reach out.

  2. Thank you for being willing to share. The results look great. Like Cindy, I am following your journey to better understand my son.
    Wishing you all the best with your new house!

Leave a Reply

