15 Months on T, 2 Months Since Top Surgery

It’s hard to remember that’s its only been just over 2 months since my top surgery and that my progress is still an ongoing thing. It’s much easier to look at the pictures online of guys who’ve had years of recovery since their surgeries and wonder when mine will start to look “normal”.

So as far as T’s going so far – my last blood work showed my T levels were far too high and my red count, hematocrit and heomglobin were all a bit high, too. Capture

So we’ve reduced my dose a little with the hope of bringing that down a bit. This puts me at a slightly higher risk of developing clots, so it’s something that we’re going to continue to monitor. My next appointment is in December, along with another round of thyroid ultrasounds to make sure that’s not gone haywire.

All in all, I’m feeling comfortable with my body in a lot of ways. I have to shave fairly regularly or the beard gets a little out of control. The mustache area’s finally starting to fill in a little and I have my first few official chin hairs. I’m aiming for Chris Hemsworth as Thor sort of look with it, so the chin hairs are certainly welcome.

hemsworth2bthor

Come to think of it, having gigantic glorious arms like that probably wouldn’t be so bad either.

On a largely unrelated note, I’m actually going to be able to attend a day of the Philly Trans Health Conference this year (Thursday only), so if you’re there, keep an eye out for me. I’d love to actually get to talk to some of you. I’m very excited to be attending the session on starting a support group. It’s something I’ve been very interested in, especially the idea of starting something more official than this blog for kids and families. I know it’s hard for parents to accept and cope with their child’s transition and I want to do something to make it easier for kids out there like me.

But that’s for another time, I think. Does anyone have any experience with starting a support group? Any advice, tips, tricks? I’ve done a little research and there’s only one in my immediate area, and it seems to be primarily older transwomen and, like I said, I’d prefer to focus on kids and families. I’m not even sure if there’s a “need” for it in my immediate area, but I know there are opportunities online, or even if I were willing to consider going to a larger – more regional scale. But again, feedback is welcome, especially from you trans moms and dads or parents with trans kids.

In the mean time…way overdue pictures!

imag0291.jpg
Excuse me looking like a total bro – I was trying to show the flatness of my chest.

I have my next follow up with Dr. Leis next week, the morning of Philly Trans. I’m going to ask him again about the extra skin on my right side (see below), that I suspect is primarily due to the swelling early in the process. It’s gone down a lot, and what hasn’t gone down has started to fill with actual pec muscle, but I’m not really happy with the unevenness of it. I suspect he’s going to tell me to hang tight a little longer and to allow some more healing to happen.

imag0286.jpg

Until Next Time,
Tyler
Find me on SnapChat: chivalrysundead

imag0277.jpg
Bonus Material: Clementine is a very aggressive cuddler. Kiwi sleeps on feet.
One thought on “15 Months on T, 2 Months Since Top Surgery”

  1. I might actually be at the conference for a little bit on Thurs, with my mom – we’ll be in town to get my drains out. I will keep an eye out for you!

Leave a Reply

