It’s Been a While

It’s been a while since I’ve written. To be honest – I needed a bit of a mental health break. Writing on this blog was no longer providing the sort of outlet that I needed and had started to feel like more of an obligation than a help.

With the results of the election weighing heavy, I’ve found myself starting snippets of writing and not finding a finish lately, so I think it’s time to redirect myself to this blog, and to developing a social media presence in general. I’m feeling pulled toward politics and activism more now than I ever have in the past, but I’m conflicted on where and how to start. For the time being, it’ll have to be toward my initial reactions to this election as a whole: 

My initial thoughts, like many in different minority populations, was fear. But I had to work, so I pulled on my big boy pants and got to it. It’s taken some time and some collecting of thoughts, but I’ve finally found peace with the situation. Don’t get me wrong, by “found peace” I don’t mean, by any stretch, that I’m okay with it. It means that I’ve accepted that it’s reality and I’ve vowed to let this make me better.

A lot of friends have been messaging me today, asking how I’m doing and what they can do to help. And the truth is – I’m scared. I’m scared for my friends and family’s safety should someone find out about me. I’m scared for the culture that my nieces and nephews will be growing up in. But more than anything I know this means that we all have to come together and fight harder. It’s easy to blame the third party voters, the DNC for putting Hillary on the ballot instead of Bernie, the republican voters, but the truth is it’s so much bigger than that. And we have to be the change that we want to see.

So for those of you that want to help: do NOT stay silent. It doesn’t matter if they’re not coming for you. We all need unite and stand for each other. Fight harder, be louder, and love stronger. If you see something, say something – and I’ll do the same. Don’t stand for racism, bigotry, xenophobia and hate.

And like most liberals, I’ve been told I’m being whiny. That I’m overreacting. That he won’t “really” do all those things – he’s just going to make America great again, which to me kind of defeats the purpose of voting for a candidate, but that’s a post of another day.

Something that really stuck with me, though, was one person’s response that they didn’t realize  that he stood for all of that. My initial reaction was “What kind of rock did you have to live under to not know!?” But I grew up in a small town where everyone knew everyone, so half of my Facebook feed was the Blue Collared, Red Leaning southern part of my state. Then I went to college at a large, state university about 40 minutes from Philadelphia – My friends were almost exclusively college-educated die hard Bernie supporters. I’ve been listening to the propaganda from both sides for so long that it never struck me that someone might not hear either fully.

So my focus will be on turning over every little rock in my corner of my world. Making sure everyone I know has to pay at least a little attention.

That’s not to say you won’t still get my occasional just for fun post, but I’m hoping to make this a much more politically-conscious endeavor going forward.

Til next time,

Tyler

One thought on “It’s Been a While”

Leave a Reply

