Document Amendments: Consular Report of Birth Abroad

As many of you know from previous posts, I’m an army brat. So I don’t have a state-issued birth certificate; I have a Consular Report of Birth Abroad (FS-545 or FS-240, depending on your birthdate). In the post-election hubbub, it’s given me the impetus to update my documents and I figured I’d post it here to help you guys out if you’re in a similar situation, including the wording I’m using for my affidavit.

If you only have the FS-545, you’ll also need a signed, notarized affidavit stating that the FS-240 form is not in your possession.

Instructions for replacing or amending a consular certificate of birth abroad are listed on the Department of State’s Website

The “hardest” part of this are the following:

1. A notarized written (or typed) request detailing the amendment or correction needed

2. Certified copies of documents justifying the amendment requested
Examples: foreign birth certificate, marriage certificate, court ordered adoption or name change, birth certificates of the adopting or legitimating parents, affidavits, etc.

I have copies of a letter from my doctor and my name change paperwork. All that’s left if the notarized request of amendment. I’m having this proofread by a lawyer friend later this afternoon for possible loopholes, so I’ll post an update later if needed.

To Whom it May Concern:

I am writing to request the following amendments to my Certification of Birth Abroad (Form FS-545):

  1. Change of name to Tyler James *LastName* – Please see enclosed court order (certified copy) issued by the state of Delaware Court of Common Pleas on June 29, 2015.
  2. Change of Gender to Male – Please see enclosed letter from treating physician, Dr. *DrsName*, certifying medical transition to male.
  3. A signed and notarized affidavit regarding the whereabouts of my FS-240

Thank you for your consideration,

This letter has to be notarized, so I’ll work on that once I get the all clear from my lawyer friend. **Edit – My friend reviewed it and agreed it’s good to go. I’ll be getting my paperwork in the mail later this week and I’ll check in with you all and let you know if I have any issues.

Best of luck,

Tyler

 

Leave a Reply

